Chakra Colors

Chakras are energy centers within the body positioned along the centerline, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. They help regulate all its processes. Each chakra governs specific processes such as organ function, immune system response, and emotions. Colors are associated with each of the seven chakra colors.

The word chakra, meaning "wheel," comes from the Vedas, the oldest written tradition in India, dating from 1,500 to 500 B.C. Chakras, recognized in alternative healing and spiritual practices, are often described as spinning wheels of energy.

In the illustration above, you can see the chakra colors and locations of each chakra. If you explored the area of the body around each chakra, you would find the nerve ganglia branching out from the spinal column and the glands and organs influenced by each chakra.

Chakra Colors Sahasrara

Image: Stockfresh

Violet (purple) is the color of the Crown chakra, also known as Sahasrara. This chakra is at the crown of the head and extends to the nervous system and brain. It represents pure thought and connects one with infinite consciousness. Opening this chakra will help tap into a deep spiritual understanding. Gemstones that aid the Crown chakra include diamonds and clear quartz.

Chakra Colors Chakras Ajna

Image: Stockfresh

Indigo is the color of the Brow or Third Eye chakra, also known as Ajna. This chakra is located between the eyebrows and is our link to the universal unconsciousness. Opening this chakra can aid in clear sight, intuition, and integrity and lessen feelings of despair. Gemstones for this chakra are amethyst, moonstone, and augilite.

Chakra Colors Visuddha

Image credit: Stockfresh

Blue is the color of the Throat chakra, also known as Visuddha. This chakra is in the throat and extends to the throat, neck, hands, and arms. It relates to speech and hearing and encourages spiritual communication. Opening the Throat chakra improves clairaudience. Gemstones that aid the Throat chakra include turquoise, aquamarine, lapis, sodalite, quartz, angelite, and aqua aura.

Chakra Colors Anahata

Image credit: Stockfresh

Green is the color of the heart chakra, also known as Anahata. This chakra is located at the center of the chest area and expands to this entire area: the heart, lungs, circulatory system, and cardiac plexus. The Heart Chakra bridges the gap between the physical and spiritual worlds. Opening the Heart chakra allows one to love, empathize, and feel compassion. Gemstones that aid the Heart chakra include emerald, tourmaline, aventurine, malachite, rose quartz, and rhodonite.
Chakra Colors Manipura

Image credit: Stockfresh

Yellow is the color of the Solar Plexus chakra, also known as Manipura. This chakra is in the stomach area and links to the organs and muscular system. It is representative of vitality and will. When this chakra is open, it empowers a person and helps them find their strength. It helps turn dreams and goals into reality. Gemstones that aid the Solar Plexus chakra include amber, topaz, citrine, yellow calcite, and yellow jasper.

Chakra Colors Svadhisthana

Image credit: Stockfresh

Orange is the color of the Sacral chakra, also known as Svadhisthana. This chakra is beneath the naval, close to the genitals and reproductive system. Opening this chakra will free fertility and inherent creativity. The Sacral chakra stimulates sexuality and emotions. Gemstones aiding the Sacral chakra include carnelian, coral, orange jasper, and orange jade.

Chakra Colors Muladhara

Image credit: Stockfresh

Red is the Base or Root chakra color, also known as Muladhara. This chakra is located at the base of the spine and allows us to be grounded and connect to the universal energies. The first chakra is the base of the spine. Groundedness, trust, and belonging lessen feelings of mistrust. Gemstones that aid the Root chakra include lodestone, ruby, garnet, smokey quartz, obsidian, hematite, and onyx.

Additional Energy Centers And Chakra Colors

Some practitioners believe the 7-chakra system is part of a more extensive 12-chakra system. The 7-chakras connect you to the earth and keep you physically, spiritually, and mentally grounded. The 12-chakra system expands upon that idea and connects you to the universe of all living beings as part of a greater whole.

For further study of the chakras and chakra colors, we recommend The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy, a reference for this article.

You Might Also Like

Feng Shui Your Desk for Success
8 Ways Colors Can Help You To Reach Your Goals
Read Time: 4 min
  • Michael says:

    This was a well written article and contains much helpful information. One thing, though. When listing the gemstones associated with the Crown Chakras, only clear quartz and diamond are listed. However, there are purple stones such as amethyst, tanzanite, selenite, moonstone and others that are closely associated with the crown chakra.

    • Kate Smith says:

      Thank you for sharing that additional information, Michael. When I have a few moments, I’ll update the article to include more gemstones.

  • stephy wintes says:

    Thanks for sharing! Each chakra symbol incorporates the powerful circle as a reminder of our connection to the universe.

  • Marilyn Anquetil says:

    What does it mean when the green Chakra stone turn almost white?

    • Kate Smith says:

      I’m sorry, Marilyn, but I don’t know what that means. šŸ™

  • Jessie says:

    I love research, and with all going on around me today this article bring so much light to these thing/conditions.

    • Kate Smith says:

      Wonderful, Jessie. Thanks for letting us know.

  • maize says:

    I found the article very informative. I have been experiencing seeing
    mostly pastel colors for some time in shape of square box or rectangle boxs

    • Kate Smith says:

      Maize, we often see or notice particular colors and shapes that correlate to something that is on our mind or something we are experiencing emotionally. These connections can help you to gain deeper understanding.

  • Jerris says:

    What a nice surprise to find this article about the chakras! Color happens on the inside as well as the outside.

  • Harikrishnan says:

    Excellent research and write up. However, I would like to point out one discrepancy. The Ajna Chakra is located between the eye brows and not on top of head as is written in text. Kindly correct this. I loved this article about colors. Thanks for sharing your erudition.

    • Kate Smith says:

      So right you are, Harikrishnan. I must have mistakenly but the location of Sahasrara rather than Ajna. I appreciate you taking time to let me know of the error and for leaving the nice compliments.

  • >